NZ Education System

New Zealand Education System

The education system in New Zealand is governed and administered by a number of different agencies and providers at different levels.

New Zealand’s education system has 3 levels: ♦ Early childhood education – from birth to school entry age ♦ Primary and secondary school – from ages 5 to 19 (school is compulsory between the ages of 6 to 16) ♦ Further education – includes all higher and vocational education. Early childhood education (ECE) This is pre-school education for children under the age of five. It is characterised by a world-leading national curriculum and there is continual emphasis on increasing the levels of teacher quality. School Education There are around 2,600 schools in New Zealand, almost all funded by the government making them free for New Zealand citizens. Each school follows a national curriculum but are self-managed and well resourced. Tertiary Education Tertiary education in New Zealand is delivered by the following: Universities Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs) Private Training Establishments (PTEs) Industry Training Organisations (ITOs) Tertiary institutions all deliver a variety of educational options, often in flexible ways to meet the needs of adult learners.